Call of the Ravens

From Descent-Community Wiki 1.1
Jump to: navigation, search
Call of the Ravens
Call of the Ravens
Player
Overlord
Card Stats
Card Type: Overlord Card
Class: Unkindness
Type: Event
Acquisition
XP cost: 1 XP
Expansion
DJ21 - Manor of Ravens
DJ21 Manor of Ravens
When purchased, place this card in your play area. This card cannot be discarded or shuffled into your deck.

Exhaust this card at the start of your turn and choose 1 monster. Place 1 Raven Flock Servant token in a space adjacent to that monster. Then, that monster suffers 4 Heart.

When the Overlord exhausts the Call of the Ravens card, he places the Raven Flock token in a space adjacent to a monster. The unfortunate monster suffers 4 Heart in the process.

The Raven Flock can be upgraded by the other cards in the Unkindness class, but these cards have to be drawn from the Overlord deck normally, and goes into the discard pile after the Raven Flock has been destroyed.

If the Raven Flock token is already on the map when Call of the Raven is invoked, it is moved from it's current location to the new place where Overlord has summoned it.

It doesn't matter how much Health the targeted sacrificial monster possesses when the Overlord uses Call of the Ravens, so it is often better to pick a weak monster that is already hurt.

Because Call of the Raven is used "at the start of your turn", it will often be put into play at the same time that the Overlord gains reinforcements. By being clever with what order the Overlord takes these events, the Raven Flock can often be gotten "for free" by having the monster that dies for it's summoning be reinforced right afterwards, provided that there was no other monster that could be reinforced.

FAQ

When summoning the Raven Flock, can you choose an existing Raven Flock as the monster to pay the summoning cost of 4 Heart, and then place a new Raven Flock adjacent to where the old one was?
Icon - FFG.png
You cannot summon the raven flock adjacent to itself because you have to remove it before replacing it adjacent to itself and at that point you can’t, because it’s gone. So no, you can’t.
Source[1] Nathan I. Hajek, Game Developer
When familiars get "summoned" while already on the map, they are first "discarded" and come back fresh. Does this apply to a servant like the raven as well? That is:
  • a) Is the Raven first discarded (removed from the map,) or just placed in a new space?
  • b) If the raven is discarded, does it remove damage/conditions?
  • c) If the raven is discarded/ removed from the map, does this count as being "defeated," such as for OL cards?
Icon - FFG.png
  • a) Yes, the Raven Flock is removed from the map.
  • b) Yes, it clears all damage and conditions.
  • c) No, the Raven Flock has not been defeated, simply removed and placed. Any Overlord cards that trigger being discarded off the Raven Flock being defeated remain in play.
Source[2] Kara Centell-Dunk, Game Developer
We played the quest Nightmare of the Shadow of Nerekhall expansion . I have the Overlord card "Call of the Ravens". The quest rules state that the apparitions can only take damage from an attack targeting them. According to the Call of the Ravens i have to:
  • Exhaust this card at the start of your turn and choose 1 monster."
    • I choose one of the apparitions.
  • Place 1 Raven Flock Servant token in a space adjacent to that monster.
    • I place the raven flock adjacent to that apparition.
  • Then, that monster suffers 4 Heart.
    • I deal 4 damage to the apparition. But since the rules state that the apparitions only take damage from attacks targeting them, nothing happens.
Is this correct?
Icon - FFG.png
Yes, you are correct.
Source[3] Kara Centell-Dunk, Game Developer

External Links